- Can you counterspell smite?
- Can Eldritch smite crit?
- Do you double smite damage on a crit?
- Can a paladin be evil?
- Can you divine smite twice?
- What is divine smite?
- Does divine smite stack?
- Can Barbarians cast spells while raging?
- Is divine smite magic?
- Does divine smite require concentration?
- Can a paladin smite with a thrown weapon?
- Can you use lay on hands on yourself?
- Does divine smite crit?
- Can you smite while raging?
- Can you smite with a thrown weapon?
Can you counterspell smite?
Because the smite is not a magical effect according to the rules of determining magical effects, it is simply an internal ability that has magical origins like a dragon’s breath, which are not counterable using counterspell..
Can Eldritch smite crit?
Eldritch Smite caps at 6d8 force damage, or 12d8 on a critical hit. The Eldritch Smite invocation specifically requires a “warlock spell slot”, referring to spell slots granted by the Pact Magic feature.
Do you double smite damage on a crit?
Yes, additional damage dice are doubled on a critical hit. Yes, that means you can choose to smite when you see you’ve got a critical hit. Yes, it’s pretty good. The extra damage from these abilities can be applied after you hit a creature.
Can a paladin be evil?
Paladins can be any of alignment, although evil paladins are extremely rare. However, their oath and their alignment can either be in harmony, or their oath might represent standards that they have not yet attained.
Can you divine smite twice?
TL;DR: other than “1 spell slot per attack” and “max 5d8 damage or 6d8 versus undead/fiends per use of divine smite” there are no limits.
What is divine smite?
Divine Smite Starting at 2nd Level, when you hit a creature with a melee weapon Attack, you can expend one spell slot to deal radiant damage to the target, in addition to the weapon’s damage. The extra damage is 2d8 for a 1st-level spell slot, plus 1d8 for each Spell Level higher than 1st, to a maximum of 5d8.
Does divine smite stack?
Other things to remember: You can divine smite once per attack, but can only eldritch smite once per turn. Also divine smite can use any spell slot, but eldritch smite requires using warlock slots. Also, paladin’s extra attack and warlock’s thirsting blade do not stack.
Can Barbarians cast spells while raging?
There is nothing saying that a Barbarian cannot pre-cast a duration spell that has a lasting effect which does not require concentration. It simply says you cannot cast and/or concentrate on a spell while Raging.
Is divine smite magic?
Divine Smite isn’t a spell but it is fueled by spell slots, which makes it magical for rules purposes. (When this ruling was first published in February 2016, it didn’t contain the spell slot criteria. It was revised along with several others in August 2017.)
Does divine smite require concentration?
Smite makes no mention of concentration. It simply uses a spell slot, and that’s it.
Can a paladin smite with a thrown weapon?
Per Crawford, No: you can’t use the paladin’s Divine Smite with a thrown weapon.
Can you use lay on hands on yourself?
Yes. Powers, Features and Spells that you cannot use on yourself explicitly state as such.
Does divine smite crit?
Under my DM’s current ruling, the Divine smite would not double it’s damage on a crit. Obviously everything is up to your GM at the end of the day, but RAW this is incorrect. The PHB states that “if the attack involves ANY other damage dice, you roll those dice twice as well.”
Can you smite while raging?
You can smite divinely while enraged. It’s rare–and explicitly spelled-out circumstances–where you’d make an attack but end up casting a spell. No, raging does not prevent you from using Divine Smite.
Can you smite with a thrown weapon?
Yes, you can slap-smite someone. An attack with a melee weapon does not have to be made in melee, as a counterexample. Thrown weapons are melee weapons, but you can make a ranged weapon attack with them. Now, where things get interesting, however, is with Improved Divine Smite.